Words of Encouragement

14 Nov

I know there’s so many of you recently graduated job-seekers out there (and obviously plenty that have not just recently graduated) and “I say just keep swimming” like Dory in Finding Nemo.

I got really annoyed when people would say “Oh, you will find something. Just keep looking. Something will come up.” It’s obnoxious hearing that from people who are currently holding down jobs. But it is true, something will come along when you least expect it. And I know there’s sooo many job-searching tips out there on “How to Have the Perfect Resume” or “Ace That Interview” but most of all, stick to being yourself. Everyone has great accomplishments and skills so just make sure you highlight those. Maybe one employer will reject for not having a particular skill but then another employer will hire you because you have the perfect skill set. You just don’t know and recruiting is very subjective.

Keep your head up everyone! I truly know what it’s like to be searching for hours and hours each day for jobs while all of my friends got theirs. I know that it’s like sitting at home on a weekday pouring over Monster.com or Careerbuilder.com, hoping to find ANYTHING. I know what it’s like to find a job or internship and be laid off not much later due to budget-cuts when I thought I’d be all set for awhile. That’s why I started this blog, to help others who are probably going through the same thing I did, putting all of the advice I got and things I learned along my journey into one spot.

Thanks for reading!

One Response to “Words of Encouragement”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Words of Encouragement « So You Want A Job? -- Topsy.com - November 14, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alyssa Ellis, Alyssa Ellis. Alyssa Ellis said: I know the job search can be SO frustration: http://tiny.cc/y778l […]

Leave a Reply

